LaDIA Faculty Fellows Selected

Louisiana Sea Grant has selected 11 tenure-track faculty from four university campuses as 2016 LaDIA Fellows. Louisiana Discovery-Integration-Applications (LA DIA) Fellows will receive training from national experts in science communication and outreach, as well as broaden their knowledge of coastal concerns, during three workshops over the course of the 2016-17 academic year.

The new LA DIA Fellows are:

  • Carol Friedland, Louisiana State University (LSU), Bert S. Turner Department of Construction Management
  • Achim Herrmann, LSU, Department of Geology and Geophysics
  • Tamjidul Hoque, University of New Orleans, Department of Computer Science
  • Navid Jafari, LSU, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Morgan Kelly, LSU, Department of Biology
  • Kanchan Maiti, LSU, Department of Oceanography and Coastal Sciences
  • James Nelson, University of Louisiana at Lafayette (ULL), Department of Biology
  • Aaron Pierce, Nichols State University, Department of Biological Sciences
  • Liz Skilton, ULL, Department of History, Geography and Philosophy
  • Beth Stauffer, ULL, Department of Biology
  • Carol Wilson, LSU, Department of Geology and Geophysics

In 2014, LaDIA’s pilot year, four fellows received communication training and worked directly with LSG Extension agents who served as outreach mentors. Fellows explored specific outreach objectives in coastal communities and provided their assessments of how to connect researchers with community residents. In 2015, 11 tenure-track faculty from five university campuses were selected as LA DIA fellows.

To learn more about the 2016 LA DIA Fellows, visit