About Us
Message from the Director
Planning Documents
Advisory Council
Strategic Initiatives
Staff Directory
Driving Directions
Academic Partners
Research Database
Oil Spill Dispersant Research Activities
Bivalve Hatchery
Requests for Proposals
2014-2016 Statements of Interest
Guidelines & Forms
Sea Grant Advisory Services
Sea Grant Extension
Law & Policy Program
Sustainable Communities & Economies
Recreation & Tourism
Nonindigenous Invasive Species
National Funding Opportunities
Student Research
Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program
Coastal Science Assistantship Program
Graduate Scholar Program
Laborde Endowed Chair
John P. Laborde
Application Guidelines
LA Hurricane Resources
Magazines & Bulletins
LSG in the News
Video & Media
Voices of the Coast
Experts Guide
Conferences & Workshops
The Presidentsí Forum on Meeting Coastal Challenges
Flood Protection & Ecosystem Restoration Conference
Building a Resilient Louisiana

LASeaGrant Facebook

LASeaGrant Twitter

Subscribe to Web Feeds

Louisiana Sea Grant Home


Home > Advisory Council


The Council meets each year in June and December to review selected Louisiana Sea Grant activities and provide counsel regarding program focus, development, and operations.

Louisiana Sea Grant has maintained a high-profile Advisory Council for several decades. Membership is drawn from the leaders of State agencies, regional Federal offices, area communities, and stakeholders. The primary role of the Advisory Council (as a whole) has been to help guide LSG’s Strategic Plan by providing input and feedback in the development of that plan and ratifying the final version. Many Council members play a more direct, interactive role in the program by assisting with LSG’s Omnibus and Program Development proposal review process, as well as contributing to specific research and outreach programs.

Louisiana Sea Grant Advisory Council

Member Affiliation

Ms. Yvonne Allen

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Dr. Virginia Burkett

U.S. Geological Survey
Dr. Paul Coreil Louisiana Cooperative Extension Service, LSU AgCenter
Ms. Jean Cowen NOAA National Marine Fisheries Service
Mr. Douglas Drennan Aquaculture Systems Technologies, Inc.
Mr. Wayne Keller Grand Isle Port Commission
Dr. Paul Kemp Audubon Louisiana Coastal Initiative
Mr. Kai Midboe McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Dr. James Pahl Governor's Office of Coastal Protection and Restoration

Mr. Buddy Pausina

Commercial Oysterman (retired)

Mr. Randy Pausina

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Mr. Harlon Pearce Louisiana Seafood Promotion and Marketing Board
Mr. Corky Perret Mississippi Department of Marine Resources (retired)
Mr. Kerry St. Pé Barataria-Terrebonne National Estuary Program

The eight-member Louisiana Sea Grant Academic Advisory Panel (AAP) is composed of researchers and professors from several State universities. It is consulted as needed for comments and suggestions concerning strategic planning, advice, and guidance for LSG management; evaluations of the Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (UROP) applications; and assistance with ways Louisiana Sea Grant can benefit from panel members’ respective campuses. The AAP also serves as the program’s distribution conduit through which LSG connects with partner academic institutions.

Academic Advisory Panel

Member Affiliation

Dr. Riyadh Al-Raoush

Southern University

Dr. Raymond Bauer

University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Dr. Edward Chesney Louisiana Universities Marine Consortium
Dr. Shirley Laska University of New Orleans
Dr. Earl Melancon Nicholls State University
Dr. Irving Mendelssohn Louisiana State University
Dr. Kelly Rusch Louisiana State University
Dr. Terry Tiersch LSU AgCenter


National Sea Grant Office | NOAA | Site Map | Search
About Us | Research | Requests for Proposals | Sea Grant Advisory Services | Opportunities
Laborde Endowed Chair | Education | Communications | Conferences & Workshops