About banner image
Advisory Council

Advisory Council

The Council meets each year to review selected Louisiana Sea Grant activities and provide counsel regarding program focus, development and operations. Louisiana Sea Grant has maintained a high-profile Advisory Council for several decades. Membership is drawn from the leaders of state agencies, regional federal offices, area communities and stakeholders. The primary role of the Advisory Council has been to help guide LSG’s Strategic Plan by providing input and feedback in the development of that plan and ratifying the final version. Many Council members play a more direct, interactive role in the program by assisting with LSG’s Omnibus and Program Development proposal review process, as well as contributing to specific research and outreach programs.

Photo: LSG Advisory Council, November 2023

Louisiana Sea Grant Advisory Council

Member Affiliation
Beaux Jones The Water Institute of the Gulf
Bren Haase Coastal Protection & Restoration (CPRA)
Brian Roberts Louisiana Universities Marine Consortium (LUMCON)
Buddy Pausina Louisiana Oyster Dealers & Growers Association
Chris Cenac Sr. MD Orthopedic Surgery, Author-Historian
Clint Willson LSU College of the Coast & Environment
Cole Garrett Louisiana Department of Wildlife & Fisheries General Counsel
Dinah Maygarden University of New Orleans (UNO)
Harlon Pearce Gulf Seafood Institute
Jim Gossen Sysco Louisiana Foods
Jon Porthouse National Fish & Wildlife Foundation
Karen Gautreaux The Nature Conservancy
Kristi Trail Pontchartrain Conservancy
Maida Owens Louisiana Department of Culture, Recreation & Tourism
Mark Davis Tulane Institute of Water Resources
Matt Lee LSU AgCenter
Richard Rebich U.S. Geological Survey
Robert Twilley LSU Office of Research & Economic Development
Simone Maloz Restore Mississippi Delta
Sumeet Dua Louisiana Tech (LA Tech)
Suzanne Van Cooten NOAA/NWS Lower Mississippi River Forecast Center
Tom Broom Danos Oil & Gas (Retired Shell Oil)
Wendell Verret Twin Parish Port District/Delcambre Direct Seafood

Advisory Council Resources: