Research banner image
UROP: 2009 Funded Projects

Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program

About UROP | FAQs Funded Projects | Application | Contact

Funded Projects: 2009

Student Project Title Faculty Sponsor
Sarah Bertrand Evaluation of genetic diversity in selected Uniola paniculata lines using Amplified Fragment Length Polymorphism (AFLP) Dr. Carrie Knott
(School of Plant, Environmental, and Soil Sciences, LSU)
James Halk Biodiversity of tropical sea stars: improving the taxonomy of asterinids and related species with molecular phylogenetics Dr. David Foltz
(Dept. of Biologicval Sciences, LSU)
Dwayne Joseph (Grambling State University) Effects of Hurricane Wrack on Coastal Slash Pine Savannas at the Grand Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve, Mississippi Dr. William Platt
(Dept. of Biologicval Sciences, LSU)
Jace Landry
Charles Smith
Toxicity and bioaccumulation of silver nanomaterials in crawfish (Procambarus clarkii and Procambarus zonangulus) Drs. Dan Hayes, Ron Sheffield, Steven Hall, and Claudia Leonardi
(Dept. of Biological and Agricultural Engineering, LSU)
Vicki Ly Carbonic Anhydrase Activity in the Epidennis of the Fiddler crab, Uca pugilator, during the Molting Cycle Dr. Enmin Zou
(Dept. of Biological Sciences, Nicholls State University)
Kristina Regmi The Effects of Extracellular Polymeric Substance (EPS) of  NaviculaNitzschiaPleurosigmaEntomoneis, and Achnanthes on Sediment Stabilization in Uncontrolled Environments and a Diatom Species Inventory of Southwest Louisiana. Drs. Melba Horton and Liang Yin
(Dept. of Biological and Environmental Sciences, McNeese State University)
Bandana Shrestha Determination of the effect of mercury as a contaminant on the quantity and quality of the polysaccharide secretion by Achnanthes longipes and the subsequent effect on sediment stabilization. Dr. Melba Horton (Dept. of Biological and Environmental Sciences, McNeese State University)
Ereene Tan High-Efficiency Determination of Sperm Concentration in Small-bodied Fishes by Use of a Micro-spectrophotometer Drs. Terrence Tiersch and Huiping Yang
(School of Renewable Natural Resources, LSU)